I almost fell off my treadmill…

Michelle Fairley’s performance as the tragic Catelyn was unforgettable.
Michelle Fairley’s performance as the tragic Catelyn was unforgettable.

…a few times this year.

First a little background. Ever since I had my daughter 18 months ago, I don’t have as much time. I know – it’s the story of every parent’s life. I’m not complaining, but it means less time for TV, writing and running, three of my personal passions.

I bought a treadmill last fall and managed to combine two of my loves, TV and running into a one-hour time slot every morning at about 5 a.m. I haven’t figured out a way to run, watch and write, so the blog has suffered. My apologies.

Watching TV while running is an experience. Those of you who do it often know what I mean. An exciting show with a lot of action, like Arrow, means you are pumped up and running strong. Slow-burner dramas like The Americans or Justified mean you might be slogging along through a lot of good dialogue, constantly turning the TV up so you can hear the characters over your breathing and the sound of your feet hitting the deck.

And then there are those jaw-dropping moments when right in the middle of a run, a show comes out of left field, my mouth gapes open, and I scramble to avoid falling off the treadmill. There were a few of those this year. You know the ones – the real gut punchers. Like the episode of The Walking Dead where Laurie died. Or the episode of Sons of Anarchy where Opie got killed in prison.

Then on Sunday you had Game of Thrones and the now-infamous Red Wedding. I haven’t read the books, so I wasn’t expecting the massacre, and once again, I nearly fell off the treadmill when I watched it on Monday morning. I’m not going to recap – there are plenty of blogs out there that have already done so (here’s a good one. It should suffice to say that I was deeply moved and emotionally disturbed by the entire scene, especially Michelle Fairley’s performance as the tragic Catelyn.

The one drawback to watching TV at 5 a.m. on the treadmill is that it is a solitary venture. So I’m lucky on days like Monday that I have my co-blogger, Mark, to talk to. It’s like a water cooler therapy session. And I have you too, people of the Internet. Thanks for being there.

Leave a Reply

