Arrow through my heart

arrowThe mid-season TV break gives us all a chance to catch up – on a good book (in my case, One Shot by Lee Child), a movie or two (we watched a lot of old favorites on Blu-Ray including Zombie, Day of the Dead, Return of the Living Dead, They Live and House By the Cemetery), or a show that you didn’t have time for during the jam-packed regular schedule. For me, that show was Arrow.

I watched one episode of Arrow when it started in the fall, so I knew it had potential (unlike Beauty and the Beast, also on CW, which I decided was a hopeless mess after two episodes – really, don’t get me started). After watching the rest of the first part of the season of Arrow, I will definitely be adding this to my weekly watch list.

First off, Stephen Amell, who plays Oliver Queen/Arrow, is an excellent actor. And he is very easy on the eyes. He’s the type of guy who you just know is destined for bigger things – I could see him in big-budget action movies or opposite popular starlets in romantic comedies in the years to come. The rest of the cast is also great – his bodyguard-turned-partner, Diggle; his scheming mother; his sometimes-annoying but overall likable sister; his rich-boy best friend; and of course his love interest, Laurel.

And you don’t have to be a fan of the Green Arrow comics, or comics in general. I’ve never read them, and I enjoy the show just the same. If you want the perspective of someone who has, Mark might be able to chime in. For the non-fans, the show gives plenty of back-story in the form of flashbacks to the island.

A lot of people might be turned off by the fact that Arrow is on the CW. I happen to like the CW, but I will say this show breaks their mold of high-school, boyfriend-girlfriend drama. It’s really just a solid drama with lots of action and intrigue, as well as a little romance. So if you have a chance, check it out when it comes back on Jan. 16 at 8 p.m.

One thought on “Arrow through my heart

Leave a Reply

