Fringe: An A+ season finale

William Bell (Leonard Nimoy) and Walter Bishop (John Noble) try to create a jam to keep the door between worlds open on last night’s season finale of Fringe.

Blerg! I am still reeling from the season finale of Fringe. I have been saying for two years that I wish Olivia and Peter would develop a romantic connection, and just when they finally reveal their feelings for each other, Olivia’s doppelganger pulls the classic switcheroo. And now the real Olivia is locked in a cell with Walternate as her wicked warden. BLERG!

Don’t get me wrong, I loved this episode, and a good cliffhanger is an awesome way to end a season. I’m pretty sure that all Fringe fans were in nerd heaven the last two weeks with so much going on between the two worlds – I know I was. I just want more.

I was especially impressed by the development of William Bell’s character (played by Leonard Nimoy) in this episode. I remember an interview with Nimoy a few months ago in which he said if the role wasn’t beefed up, he wouldn’t be continuing it. Although I think last night may have been his final episode with the show, they definitely used it as an opportunity to humanize his character and resolve some long-standing issues in his relationship with Walter.

I was also glad that it wasn’t a “kiss and make-up” type of ending with Walter and Peter. They have a complicated relationship – they always have. And it would be unrealistic to easily forgive Walter’s transgressions. So it’s good that Peter is going to have to work through this betrayal on his own time. I think this relationship is the real heart of the show, and the moral tug-of-war between Walter’s mad scientist persona and his good-natured side continues to be intriguing.

I am curious if Olivia’s doppelganger is going to have a lengthy stay next season, or if Peter will figure it out right away. I sure hope he figures it out quick, but who knows how they are going to get back to the alternate universe without the real Olivia and the other cortexiphan kids. Blerg!

2 thoughts on “Fringe: An A+ season finale

  1. I agree with the grade as well. My biggest issue was how easily Peter gets pulled back and forth. His real dad shows up after 20 years and says come with me and bam, he’s gone. Then Olivia says there gonna kill you, you have to go back and bam, he does. Of course, the whole “you’re meant to be with me” thing is pretty compelling. 🙂

    • I think he went back for her. I thought it had less to do with Walter and more to do with the relationship with Olivia. I think he knew as soon as her saw her double that he cared about her more than he initially knew.

Leave a Reply

